RSS

AMAZON KINGFISHER – YES

14 Nov

The first time an Amazon Kingfisher was seen in the states was in January 2010.  It was found by Alan Wormington, in Laredo, Texas, along Zacate Creek.  The bird continued to be seen for weeks.

The second time an Amazon Kingfisher was seen in the states was in November 2013.  It was found by Jeff Bouton near a resaca (small lake), east of the intersection of Highway 100 and Highway 77, just south of Harlingen, Texas.

The third time an Amazon Kingfisher was seen in the states was late in October of this year.  It was found by Raul de Laredo (Raul Delgado) in the exact same location where the first one was found back in 2010.

All three of these sightings were of female individuals.

This morning, I got up early.  Made a coffee and headed out for Laredo.  It is about a 3 1/2 hour drive from our place in San Benito.  I located Zacate Creek and scouted the area.  It wasn’t long and I found a Green Kingfisher.

green-kingfisher1

Green Kingfisher

amazon-kingfisher4

Amazon Kingfisher

About 45 minutes later, I saw the Amazon Kingfisher.  Then the Green Kingfisher showed up again.  As I was leaving, I ran into a couple of other birders that were looking for the bird.  I showed them the area where I had seen it.  We continued to search.  We saw a found a Ringed Kingfisher and then a little further downstream, we re-located the Amazon.

What a great feeling.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 14, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “AMAZON KINGFISHER – YES

  1. Anonymous

    November 14, 2016 at 10:50 pm

    Congrats!! Wish I could have beeen there!!

     
  2. Anonymous

    November 15, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    Congrats!!

     
 
