RSS

nice extended weekend at the cabin

04 Jul

We spent the weekend at the cabin, arriving on July 1st (Canada Day) and leaving there on July 4th (American Independence Day).  The cabin is located in Michigan, on the Cedar River, half way between Gladwin and Harrison.  The weather was great, 24-27 C (78-84 F).  The evenings were cool.  Sitting around the campfire after supper until bed-time was especially nice.  The S’mores were tasty.

i have a radio playing outside all day long.  NPR via WCMU in Mt. Pleasant.  So many neat shows on the weekend.  A few of my favourites:  WAIT, WAIT.  DON’T TELL ME,  ACOUSTIC CAFE, AMERICAN ROUTES, PRAIRIE HOME COMPANION and BLUES AT THE JUKE JOINT.  I especially was interested in PRAIRIE HOME COMPANION this weekend.  The host, Garrison Keillor, is retiring and this was his last show.  I might have this wrong, but I believe he said he has been hosting this show for 42 years.  He is 73 years old.

On Sunday afternoon,  I went for a long walk with my grand-daughter, Bailei, on my Uncle Charles’ property, which is adjacent to the cabin property.  I still refer to it as my “Uncle Charles’ property”, even tho my Uncle Charles passed away a number of y.ears ago.  It is a pretty good chunk of land.  And we walked over to a portion that I have not visited for many years.  I pointed out to Bailei a stand of pine trees that I clearly remember helping my Uncle Charles plant.  I believe this was back in the 80’s.  There is also a stand of spruce trees nearby that my uncle planted.  He started these trees from seeds and they are quite mature now.

I always keep my ears and eyes open for birds while at the cabin.  I was surprised at the total lack of Golden-winged Warblers.  They are usually evident in the area.  When I was there back in May, they seemed plentiful.  Pine Warblers nest on the cabin property.  Mourning Warblers are easy to find as are Chestnut-sided Warblers and Common Yellowthroat.  The most common warbler in the area is the American Redstart.

Every morning, while sitting outside, I heard Sandhill Cranes, Belted Kingfisher, Red-eyed Vireo, Black-billed Cuckoo, House Wren, Blue Jay, Rose-breasted Grosbeak, Red-breasted Nuthatch, American Robins, Northern Flicker, Song Sparrow and Mourning Dove.  Every evening there is a chorus of Veery’s.  On some visits to the cabin, I will wake up in the middle of the night and hear the song of the Barred Owl, but not this weekend.

i always hate to leave this beautiful place.

 
Comments Off on nice extended weekend at the cabin

Posted by on July 4, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
