RSS

A walk at Clark Wright Conservation Area

10 May

Yesterday,Monday morning, I went for a walk on the trails at Clark Wright Conservation Area.  This was the first time I have been there since getting back from Texas at the beginning of April.  This conservation area is close to home, only about a 5 minute drive.  Generally, the area is pretty much devoid of people.  Dog-walkers make use of the trails and occasionally a family will show up for a walk on the trails.  But generally, I have the place to myself.  I like it there.  A lot of memories.  And the Conservation Authority continue to make upgrades here.  There is a nice picnic table near the parking lot and there is a new bench for sitting, resting, observing and just listening located way at the back past the creek.

image

 

image

On Monday, I saw 33 species while walking the trails. This included 11 species of warblers.

  • Nashville Warbler
  • Northern Parula
  • Yellow Warbler
  • Chestnut-sided Warbler
  • Black-throated Green Warbler
  • Blackburnian Warbler
  • Pine Warbler
  • Palm Warbler
  • Black-and-white Warbler
  • Ovenbird
  • Common Yellowthroat

Among some of the more common birds, there were also several Baltimore Orioles, a Rose-breasted Grosbeak and a Warbling Vireo.  But for me, seeing 11 different species of warblers was a highlight for this area.  It is the most I have seen there on a single morning.

 

 
Comments Off on A walk at Clark Wright Conservation Area

Posted by on May 10, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
