RSS

Saturday morning exploration

23 Apr

This morning I headed towards the Pinery Provincial Park.  The park is about 45 minutes from our place in Strathroy.  Along the way, I stopped at the Thedford Sewage Lagoons.  It has been a couple of years since I have checked this area out.  I climbed the fence and walked back to the ponds.  Beavers have been busy along the water’s edge.  Song Sparrows were everywhere.  It seemed that I flushed one up every couple of steps.  There were quite a number of ducks to be seen.  There were a few Gadwall, some Mallards, a couple of Northern Shoveler, some Ring-necked Ducks, scaup, LOTS of Bufflehead and a number of Ruddy Ducks.  Canada Geese were plentiful, too.  As I walked back to the van, I flushed a couple of Savannah Sparrows.

Next, I headed up to the Pinery.  I purchased a seasonal pass (April 1st to November 1st) for $125.  They don’t come cheap!!!!!  Everything is bigger is Texas, while everything is more expensive in Canada.  The feeders at the visitor centre were very busy.  In addition to the squirrels and chipmunks, there were a lot of birds.

Red Squirrel

Red Squirrel

Black-capped Chickadees, White-breasted Nuthatches and Tufted Titmice were flying back and forth from one feeder to another.  An Eastern Towhee was busy feeding on the ground.  And more were singing away from the feeders.

Eastern Towhee

Eastern Towhee

Sparrows were everywhere.   Some American Tree Sparrows and Dark-eyed Juncos were still hanging around, probably wondering why they had not left for more northern climes yet.  There were about half a dozen Chipping Sparrows, a Field Sparrow, and a White-throated Sparrow all making sure they got there share of feed that had fallen to the ground.

Dark-eyed Junco

Dark-eyed Junco

Chipping Sparrow

Chipping Sparrow

Field Sparrow

Field Sparrow

I even managed to catch a glimpse of what I believe was a Northern Short-tailed Shrew, one of the few venomous mammals.

shrew

shrew

Hermit Thrush were numerous and I heard an Eastern Phoebe singing near the visitor centre.

 
Comments Off on Saturday morning exploration

Posted by on April 23, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
