RSS

Daily Archives: March 29, 2016

nice quiet evening


A pair of Black-bellied Whistling Ducks flew by overhead, “whistling” as they go.  I am sitting out in the car port, working on Sudoku puzzles, listening to some music (Lafayette by Lucinda Williams just played), a slight breeze is blowing thru the palm trees, the clouds are pinkish red as the sun is slipping down into the horizon, the Northern Mockingbirds and the Curve-billed Thrashers and settling in for the night, still singing to let everyone know that the day is done and I am taking a break from packing.  The last couple of days I have been pulling together the vagaries of the past 5 months together.

It is a bittersweet time.  Like having two homes.  Two different sets of friends.  It is so nice here at Fun N Sun RV Resort.  But activities here in the park have come to a close.  Rigs are pulling out every day.  Last Friday was the last dance of the season.  Stain glass activities are over.  My gospel choir has been over for a couple of weeks now.  Residents from Oklahoma and Missouri are usually the first to leave.  Those further north, like Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan and New York follow a little later.  Canadians (and there are quite a few here in the park) tend to stay until mid- to late April.

But I am feeling the pull of the north.  Strathroy is calling and so we are leaving here on Friday.  I have been hearing on the rare bird alert that a Flame-coloured Tanager has been hanging out in a park in Refugio, Texas.  This is right on our route home.  So of course, I will be stopping to look for this bird.  I have added 11 life birds to my list since we arrived back in October and it would be nice to make that 12 lifers.

3 or 4 days on the road. Depends on how long we are in Refugio.

Canada ….here we come.  It will be interesting to watch the politics here from our Canadian home.

I will close with a YouTube video of one of my favourite Texas groups — The Flatlanders.

 

 

 

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2016 in Uncategorized