RSS

Estero LLano Grande State Park

08 Feb

048(1)

Estero Llano Grande State Park, one of the Lower Rio Grande Valleys best birding area, is about a 1/2 drive from our RV Resort.  A day pass is $5.  This “world birding centre” attracts many birds.  There are feeding areas set up is several locations.  “Rare” birds show up here often.  Last year, a White-throated Thrush, a Mexican species, settled in for a stay of several weeks.  This somewhat elusive bird managed to remain out of sight whenever I went to look for it.  Four times I went and dipped on this bird last year.

Last week, another (or perhaps the same bird) White-throated Thrush showed up at the park.  It seems to have settled into the same area as last year’s bird.  So, of course, I made a quick trip there yesterday.  This time, I did see the bird.  I was not a very satisfying look, as the bird flew by overhead and disappeared into the trees beyond the fence.  But I clearly saw the bird with my binoculars and was able to note the diagnostic field marks:  The heavily streaked throat area with the white “band” below the streaking, dark brown above and sort of a gray colour underneath.  This is another life bird for me, bringing my North American total to 563 species, a pretty good birthday present to myself.

Not only does this park attract a lot of birds.  They also attract a lot of butterflies.  A one particular butterfly feeding area, a mixture of equal parts, brown sugar and bananas is smeared on some logs to attract the butterflies.  I took this picture yesterday of a Mexican Bluewing.

050(1)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 8, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Estero LLano Grande State Park

  1. Bob Zeller

    February 8, 2016 at 11:47 am

    Looks like a fun place to visit……someday. 🙂

     
 
