RSS

December ACAS Meeting

11 Dec

Last evening, I attended the December meeting of the Arroyo Colorado Audubon Society (ACAS).  Quite a good number of people there.  Sat with Jack and Jo-Ann Gruber and Diana Miller.  We all stay at the same park in San Benito.  The meeting covered a number of interesting topics.  But the two main items, was the details around the upcoming Christmas Bird Counts in the valley and a talk by Mark Conway, about sparrows that can be found in the valley.

The first CBC count is the Coastal Tips count on Monday, December 14, 2015.  I will be participating in this count.  The group I am assigned to will be covering Port Isabel and the surrounding area.  Should be fun.  The Harlingen count is not until early January, I think on the 2nd.  (not sure of that).  On the 29th of December, there is the Laguna Atascosa count.  I think I will participate in that also.  Part of that count is the Cactus Creek Ranch and I would like to help Ralph Peterson with that, if possible.  But maybe the coordinator will want to put me somewhere else.  Doesn’t matter.  It is all good.

Mark’s talk about sparrows was terrific.  Comical and informative at the same time.

This is a picture of a Cassin's Sparrow I took earlier this week.

This is a picture of a Cassin’s Sparrow I took earlier this week.

 
Comments Off on December ACAS Meeting

Posted by on December 11, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
