RSS

my loss

22 Nov

By moving to Texas for the winter, I have given up certain things.  I have given up participation in a number of Christmas Bird Counts in southwestern Ontario.  For years I have taken part in 5 or 6 counts every Christmas season.  I am going to miss these.  However, I have already been looking at the counts here in the Rio Grande Valley and I am excited about participating in these.  Another thing I have given up, is searching out Snowy Owls as they take up winter residence in southwestern Ontario.  There are often 1 to 3 that like the Strathroy area.  And I always enjoyed driving out on the backroads to look for them.  There are often Short-eared Owls in the Melbourne area of southwestern Ontario and at least every other week during the winter, I would drive down to Melbourne to look for them.  Eagles can often be found in southwestern Ontario near Melbourne, Wardsville and Newbury.  Golden Eagles have returned to the Newbury area.  Denise Charbonneau-Dykema took these pics today, November 22, 2015, just outside of Newbury.

Golden Eagle1

and

Golden Eagle2

Great photos, Denise.

 
Comments Off on my loss

Posted by on November 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
