RSS

too late

10 Oct

Despite the best of intentions, sometimes things just don’t work out the way you would like.  A week ago this past Thursday, I learned that a friend from our church had been admitted to the hospital.  Heart issue.  He was in the local hospital here in town.  I made a mental note to go drop in for a visit.  And then, as happens more often than I would like to admit, I just forgot about it, until his hospitalization was brought up at a church Board of Management meeting this past Thursday evening.  Again, another mental note.  Those mental notes just don’t work so good.  Late this afternoon, while I was downstairs vacuuming, it suddenly occurred to me that I had forgotten about him again.  So I stopped what I was doing, went to Timmies and bought a couple donuts and coffees to take up to the hospital.  I went down to the ward where he was staying and his room was empty.  The nurses on duty, said he must have been discharged.  His name was not on their duty roster.  I called some mutual friends to see how he was doing and they informed me that he had been transferred to University Hospital in London.  Sounds like he is going to get a pace maker installed.  But I feel like a shit head for being so late in going to see him.

Another situation where I was “too late”, occurred this past month.  At the September board meeting, I said that I would repair the church bell.  It was “stuck” and would not move when you pulled on the rope.  Repairs involve getting someone with an extension ladder so that I can get up into the bell tower and “unstick” the bell.  I completely forgot about doing this, also.  I learned at the October board meeting (this past Thursday) that there was a wedding at our church a week ago and the bride was pretty disappointed that the bell was inoperable.  She was hoping that the bell could have been rung at the conclusion of her wedding ceremony.  Again, what a shit head.  So yesterday, I did get together with another member of the church (who has a ladder) and I went up and repaired the bell.

I need to be more thoughtful.

 

 

 
Comments Off on too late

Posted by on October 10, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
