RSS

a very odd thing…..

01 Oct

I have been writing blog posts since sometime in 2009.  It is not an exceedingly popular blog, but I do have some people that follow it regularly.  That pleases me.  It is not unusual for me to make 20 to 25 postings a month.  Sometimes I posts pictures, videos and music.  But most often, it is just random thoughts or an account of an activity.

I use an application called STATCOUNTER that tracts certain information about those viewing my blog.  For instance, I can look at where a viewer is located.  Not an address, but a general location.  I am able to see when it was viewed, to the second.  And I am able to see the IP addresses used to view my posts.  I don’t see names.  I really have no idea of who actually looks at it unless someone tells me they have.  But STATCOUNTER does show me the platform that was used. For example:  Chrome 45 Windows 7, or IOS Apple iPhone, or Firefox 40 Windows 8.1.  And STATCOUNTER shows me what post was viewed.

Now for that “odd thing” I mentioned in the heading.  Back on June 6th of this year, I wrote a blog post entitled “Very busy, non-stop, Saturday morning”.  That post was just about an activity that I participated in that day – a church BBQ.  Nothing of great interest to very many people.  However, today, for some strange reason, according to my STATCOUNTER, people from all over the world, have viewed that particular post.  There was a view from Norway, Macedonia, Connecticut, Italy, Argentina and two views from the Philippines.  Adding to the strangeness.  On June 27, 2009 (that is right, 2009), I wrote a post entitled, “June 27, 2009 – Non-stop, almost”.  There were three views of that post today.  One from Hong Kong, one from California and one from Wisconsin.  I find this very bizarre.  I know strange, seemingly, incomprehensible things can happen over the internet, but I would really like to understand what it going on here.  However, I am afraid it will remain a mystery forever.  Just want to share this with my readers.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “a very odd thing…..

  1. Dennis Skinner

    October 1, 2015 at 2:30 pm

    You have been discovered Dave.

     
    • the mogg blog

      October 1, 2015 at 3:31 pm

      i can only hide for so long!

       
  2. thepowerandthelaurie

    October 1, 2015 at 2:46 pm

    Dave, it could be the result of a search for ‘non-stop’? That is the common term in the titles.

     
    • the mogg blog

      October 1, 2015 at 3:33 pm

      I sort of thought that, too. But it just seemed odd that all these people picked the same day to google “non-stop”/ This has never happened before.

       
  3. Erin

    October 2, 2015 at 10:32 am

    I decided to visit your blog, since you were wondering if was me before. Hello from SA. 🙂

     
    • the mogg blog

      October 5, 2015 at 9:27 am

      Hi Erin. Sounds like you are having a wonderful visit/.

       
 
