RSS

mid-September excursion

16 Sep

One could not ask for better mid-September weather than what greeted my friend and I as we headed to Hawk Cliff.  The only problem was the lack of wind.  And Hawks require wind to help facilitate migration.  So there was only a minor migration at Hawk Cliff today.  Today it was slow, but steady.  Approximately 125 Hawks were counted.  There were a couple of Bald Eagles, a couple Northern Harriers, a couple of Cooper’s Hawks, one Osprey, quite a number of American Kestrels and the rest were Sharp-shinned Hawks.

I did not see any Broad-winged or Red-tailed Hawks.

There were lots of Monarch butterflies at Hawk Cliff.  And when I got home, I found five  Monarchs and a Milbert’s Tortoiseshell.  A fitting conclusion to a good day.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “mid-September excursion

  1. Bob Zeller

    September 16, 2015 at 5:30 pm

    Wow, I would call it a great day if I saw 10 hawks. 🙂

     
  2. kestrelhill

    September 16, 2015 at 6:17 pm

    Nice! I’ve been doing hawk watch too, getting 150 to 250 Broadwings per day. And there are always the resident ravens to amuse us when there’s a lull.

     
 
