RSS

Progress

08 May

Thinking about it.

DSC08201(1)

 

 

I made good progress on the yard and garden work.  I spent a good portion of Thursday working on my water feature.  By mid-afternoon, it was cleaned and re-filled.  I installed the pump and everything is working nicely.  There is a good flow of water cascading down the rocks and into the stone bathing and drinking area.  I still need to re-position some stones to make it look a little more natural.  I figure that is a good job for Bailei.  (I am picking her up after school.)

 

 

There is a portion of my garden that has been taken over by a beautiful ground cover.  Unfortunately, the root system for this plant is VERY invasive.  I was warned about putting this in my garden, but it was such a nice looking plant, I ignored the warnings.  Stupid me.  Anyway, I have been working away at sifting thru the dirt (about 10 inches deep) and removing all the roots.  This is not an easy job.  But I am making good work of it.  Nothing like getting your hands dirty.

DSC08206

DSC08207

 

While sorting thru some pictures in preparation for this post, I came across a few pictures that were taken from the newly built bird blind at the Bird and Butterfly Garden at Fun and Sun RV Resort.  Here are three of them.  The first is a Curve-billed Thrasher.  The next two are of a Golden-fronted Woodpecker.  This woodpecker just loved sipping nectar from one of the small nectar feeders.  This woodpecker would drain the feeder each day.

DSC08171

DSC08184

 

DSC08185

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Progress

  1. Bob Zeller

    May 8, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    I like the shirt. 🙂

     
 
