RSS

Local trails

06 May

Today I visited some of the areas close to home.  First I went to the Strathroy Sewage Lagoons.  I walked around the south pond.  There were lots of birds to be found. Canada Geese, Mallard, Blue-winged Teal, Canvasback, Redhead, Ring-necked Duck, Scaup, Ruddy Duck, lots of Lesser Yellowlegs, a Spotted Sandpiper, Northern Flicker, Tree Swallow, Northern Rough-winged Swallow, Cliff Swallow, Barn Swallow, American Robin, Brown Thrasher, lots of Yellow Warbler, lots of Yellow-rumped Warblers, several Palm Warblers, a Black-and-White Warbler, Chipping Sparrow, Song Sparrow and Northern Cardinal.

Then I headed over to the Strathroy Conservation Area.  Some of the same birds were here.  But I added Black-throated Green Warbler, White-throated Sparrow, Red-bellied Woodpecker and a pair of Tufted Titmouse.  This is the first time I have encountered Titmouse in the conservation area.  The trails at the conservation area were easy to walk.  No mud or wet areas.

Next I headed over to Clark Wright Conservation Area.  Again, I saw many of the same birds here as at my first two stops.  But I also saw a Sharp-shinned Hawk, Eastern Phoebe, Pine Warbler, Eastern Towhee and Field Sparrow.

Altogether I found 45 species close to home today.  The weather was great and it was nice to re-visit areas that I had not seen since last year.  The trees are beginning to leaf out.  Everything is very green.  I don’t think there has been a lot of rain in the area.  The ponds I saw today seemed to be on the low side.  But from what I have seen on the weather forecast, there is some rain coming next week.

 
Comments Off on Local trails

Posted by on May 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
