RSS

herons

16 Apr

Yesterday morning, as I was sitting outside reading, I happened to just look up from my book to see a pair of Green Herons fly down our street.  First time I have noticed that before.  But this morning while out for my morning walk with Abby, I saw two Green Herons again in the vicinity of our place.  I assume they were the same birds.  Must be a pair.  And they must have a nest in the area somewhere.

The other day, while birding at the Convention Centre on the Island, I met a fellow that lives just down the road outside the park.  He mentioned that there are a pair of Black-crowned Night-Herons nesting in his yard.  That does not surprise as there have been LOTS of night-herons roosting in the trees around the Resaca (lake) behind the park.

As a side note, I have been seeing a Ruby-throated Hummingbird and a Hooded Oriole coming to my hummingbird feeder for the past couple of days.

Later today, I will put together a post about the trip yesterday up to the Sal Del Rey Lake area north of here.  This is an inland saltwater lake.

 

 
Comments Off on herons

Posted by on April 16, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
