RSS

beautiful morning

19 Mar

Woke up to a beautiful morning at last.  Actually, I was up early again and sat outside with my coffee before sunrise watching and listening as the park slowly came to life.  My neighbor was up early, also, and went off to the golf course.  Several people walked past while it was still dark.  Getting their exercise early.  Morning bird song has been increasing of late and this morning the birds seemed to be in good form.  Northern Mockingbirds and Curve-billed Thrashers coming in to my feeder.  They like the apples slices and the suet.  Black-bellied Whistling Ducks fly over the park every morning.  Golden-fronted Woodpeckers and Great-tailed Grackles are everywhere. Sandhill Cranes are heading north and yesterday I heard a flock flying overhead.  Migrant Warblers are showing up.  I have heard of a Louisiana Waterthrush, a Chestnut-sided a Prothonatory and a Tennessee being seen at various locations.  I have heard of two reports of Scissor-tailed Flycatchers in the area.  I took Abby for her morning walk once it was light and a couple of Red-crowned Parrots flew in from the east and joined 5 others that were in the trees and on the wires at the west side of the park.  (my sense of direction may not be right on this).

Spent yesterday, with my neighbor, working on the bird blind.  We put the roof on it yesterday.  The blind is still not complete.  But it is close.

I have been hearing a lot of grumbling from some residents about the weather down here.  All the rain and muddy conditions it getting people down.  Some are talking about taking their R’s elsewhere in the years to come.  This park is relatively old.  The infrastructure (roads, drainage, etc) has not been upgraded in a long, long time.  The management is talking about road improvement, but we will see.

Here is a picture of a Golden-fronted Woodpecker.

059(1)

and here is a song that I like

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 19, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “beautiful morning

  1. Steve

    March 19, 2015 at 11:12 am

    Getting VERY anxious to be there, Dave. See you in 4 days!

     
 
