RSS

accomplishment

07 Feb

There is a large tree at the backside of our trailer.  This tree starts to drop its leaves in December.  By the end of January, the tree is bare.  A couple of weeks ago, I raked and bagged the leaves on the ground in the front and side portion of the lot.  But the back side is easy to neglect.  And yesterday, I decided that I had better pick up the rake and get at it.  I took the better part of the morning and part of the afternoon.  But eventually, I had two large piles of leaves, ready to bag.  But first, I went inside to do the dishes.  Then there was a knock on the door.  It was one of the Master Naturalists here in the park.  I forget her name.  But she had noticed me raking and wondered if I had plans for the leaves.  When I said “Not really”,  she asked if you could bag them and take them away for me.  She wanted to take them to Ramsey Park (a birding and trail park at the edge of town).  The would make good compost.  So of course, I agreed.  And in the blink of an eye, the leaves were gone.

???????????????????????????????

Yesterday, I read about a morning sighting of WHITE-THROATED THRUSH (ROBIN) at Estero Llano Grande State Park.  This is the same park that has been the home of a GRAY-CROWNED YELLOWTHROAT for the past couple of weeks.  Yikes—I want to see that bird.  It was re-located late in the afternoon.  I will be heading there this morning (along with many other birders) to look for it.  Luckily, Estero is only about a 1/2 hour drive from here.

Later this afternoon, one of the neighbors down the road, is hosting a “Happy Hour/Street Party” sort of gathering.  I have to be back for that.  So if I don’t get to see the thrush today, I will head back tomorrow.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 7, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “accomplishment

  1. Blake Mann

    February 7, 2015 at 4:07 pm

    Good luck with the thrush.
    I’d rather rake leaves than shovel all this snow we have here now!

     
 
