RSS

Saturday morning

31 Jan

I have come down with a cold.  First cold I have had in a long time.  It stated with a sort of tickle in my throat and proceeded to a dry cough.  So far I am not overly congested, although I think there is a slight sinus infection.  Each day (and I am only into Day 3 of this) it is has been getting progressively worse.  I am hoping it peaks soon and I can return to normal.

This morning I awoke early as usual.  I lay in bed with my mini iPad and earphones and listened to a YouTube video of Billy Joe Shaver and Willie Nelson singing on the David Letterman show.  These guys are a couple of my favourite “outlaws”. 

Then I turned in to “Echoes” on WCMU.  John Diliberto, the host of “Echoes”, mentioned the passing of Edwin Froese on January 20th, the creator of Tangerine Dream.  His music was literally “out of this world”.  His album, Phaedra, came out in 1974.  I bought it and a whole new world of space music landed in my psychic and remains to this day.  I have not listened to the album for quite some time.  But today seemed like the perfect day for it.  The entire album is on YouTube, all 37 min 50 seconds of it.  So I lay in bed with my ear plugs and listened to the whole thing.  Magical.  Here is another link for anyone interested in reading a little more about Tangerine Dream.

That cup of morning coffee I just drank seemed to help my throat.  But I won’t be wandering too far from the trailer today.  Don’t want to pass this on to anyone.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 31, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Saturday morning

  1. Bob Zeller

    January 31, 2015 at 9:40 am

    Get well, my friend. I hope you don’t get the flu.

     
 
