RSS

Fun day on Saturday

18 Jan

Last night I felt very tired and went to bed early.  Probably around 8 pm.  And then of course I got up early.  Funny how that works.  I woke up at 3:30 am and just lay in bed until 5 am, when I got up and took Abby for a walk down to the dog run.  Glad I did.  A Great Horned Owl was calling off in the distance.  This is the first owl I have for 2015.  First of many, I hope.  Still hoping to see a Barn Owl before long.  Eastern Screech-Owls nest here in the park, so that should be easy.  And last year an Elf Owl was reported in the park, although I couldn’t find it.  And who knows, maybe I will be lucky and find a Long-eared Ear.

Going to meet up with a group from the Arroyo Colorado Audubon Society this morning.  We are going to hit several “hot spots”:  The Frontera Audubon and the Estero Llano Grande World Birding Center in Weslaco.  Hoping that I will be able to add a nice update to this  post when I get back this afternoon.

Both of these locations are only about a 30 minute drive from the RV Park.

I was able to add the following birds to my year list:

  • Canvasback
  • Lesser Scaup
  • Great Blue Heron
  • White Ibis
  • White-tailed Kite
  • White-tailed Hawk
  • Peregrine Falcon
  • White-tipped Dove
  • Buff-bellied Hummingbird
  • Great Kiskadee
  • White-eyed Vireo
  • Clay-colored Thrush
  • American Robin
  • Townsend’s Warbler
  • Summer Tanager
  • Altamira Orioile

We also saw a very cool butterfly – the Mexican Bluewing.

Mexican Bluewing

Mexican Bluewing

 

 

Lincoln's Sparrow

Lincoln’s Sparrow

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 18, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Fun day on Saturday

  1. Bob Zeller

    January 18, 2015 at 10:08 am

    One nice thing about this time of the year, it is easy to add birds to the year list. 🙂

     
 
