RSS

Highlights of the day

15 Jan

While walking my dog this morning, I saw a rather large formation of Geese (approx. 100 birds) flying in a straight V formation, up very high.  I did not have my binoculars with me.  But I am assuming they were Greater White-fronted Geese.  I believe that if they had been Snow Geese, the white/black contrast would have been evident.  They were calling, too.  But I am not familiar with the calls of these species that I could pick them out.

This afternoon, I had good looks at a Buff-bellied Hummingbird.  This species is a valley specialty.  What a beautiful bird.  Here is picture of one that I took last year.

1-1

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 15, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Highlights of the day

  1. Bob Zeller

    January 15, 2015 at 6:09 pm

    Beautiful photo, Dave.

     
 
