RSS

a smile on my face

30 Oct

It has been probably 2 years since I was last in Leamington. So it felt good turning off the 401 onto County Road 77 and heading south to town.  I was hopeful, but not overly confident, that the EURASIAN COLLARED-DOVE would show itself to me today.  And, as luck would have, it did not show.  An hour of walking the roads near the Gore Hill Public School, the vicinity of recent reported sightings, and I could not locate it.  Oh well.  That is the way it goes sometimes.

Yet, I had a superb day.  Temperature was very nice and there was still a lot of leaf colour to observe.  A number of hawks showed themselves.  There was a kettle of four RED-TAILED HAWKS in Leamington.  And closer to home, there was a field with three dark phase ROUGH-LEGGED HAWKS, a NORTHERN HARRIER and two RED-TAILED HAWKS.  That was a enough to put a smile on my face and make the whole effort very worthwhile.

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 30, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “a smile on my face

  1. Bob Zeller

    October 31, 2014 at 5:51 pm

    I envy you,Dave. To see so many raptors in one place.

     
 
