RSS

for what it’s worth

26 Sep

Sometimes I have trouble sleeping.  When I went to bed last night, I listened to Kenny Burrell (“Blusey Burrell”) using my iPhone and ear plugs.  I fell asleep after several numbers.  I woke up at some point and one ear plug was still in and the iPhone was still beside me on the bed.  I put all that stuff on my night table and went back to sleep.  At 4 AM, I woke up again and could not get back to sleep.  Finally, I got up at 5 AM and made myself a cup of coffee and turned on the news.  More of the same.  Bombing in the middle east.

I have kind of made it a personal policy to avoid political rants or discussions on my blog, sticking to topics that deal with our natural world instead.  But here I go.  I am sickened by what continues to go on in the middle east.  Our world is so divided.  There is so much about what is going on over there that I don’t understand.  But I feel strongly that the “west” should not be involved.  But it keeps getting drawn in deeper and deeper.  It is unbelievably costly in terms of human lives, dollars and cents and cultural destruction.  If the money spent on these conflicts could be put towards education, fighting hunger. disease and ending poverty, what a better world it would be.  Of course, it is not easy to just walk away and ignore the heinous barbarity taking place in the middle east that is shown over and over again on the media.  But in my opinion, that is what we ought to do.  Just get out and stay out.  I don’t even know the difference between a Sunni philosophy and a Shiite philosophy.  There must be a difference and a damned awful important difference or they wouldn’t be fighting and hating so much.

A number of years ago, I became aware of Jeffrey Sachs.  He is the director of the Earth Institute at Columbia University.  Mr. Sachs has been named as one of the Time Magazine’s 100 Most Influential People on two occasions.  Please click on this link to access an article written by Jeffrey Sachs that appeared in the “The Daily Beast”, an American news reporting and opinion website founded and formerly published by Tina Brown, past editor of Vanity Fair and The New Yorker  .  And this link will take you to an article written by Mr. Sachs that appears in the “Huffington Post”, an on-line website offering news, blogs and original content covering politics, business, entertainment, etc.

Well….I have said my piece and provided an opportunity for further reading on the subject.  You may or may not agree, but take it for what it is worth (whatever that means).

 

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “for what it’s worth

  1. Kim Nichols

    September 26, 2014 at 8:28 am

    Couldn’t agree more Dave. We the people don’t stand a chance against the corporate war machine and the media that lives off them.

     
  2. Bob Zeller

    September 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

    I agree with your desires to have us pull out, too, except these idiots of the ISIS are threatening our country, too. Unfortunately, if we don’t try to stop them no one else will do it. It would be nice if we could someday be free from any overseas commitments, and have all those countries look out for themselves.

     
 
