RSS

Hawk Cliff

11 Sep

It has been couple of years since I have been to Hawk Cliff.  I used to go 3, sometimes 4, times each fall season.  I got to know the “regulars” and always looked forward to standing there, sometimes sitting in a lawn chair, scanning the skies looking for hawks, falcons, accipiters, eagles, etc.  Often, I would bring friends and fellow birders along with me. Typically, I would spend anywhere from 3 to 5 hours in this endeavor.

Today, I drove to Hawk Cliff.  The wind was from the NW and that is the ideal direction for hawk viewing.  It was a bit cool. overcast and breezy.  I turned off Dexter Line and onto Hawk Cliff Road (a dirt road leading down to the cliff).  About 1/2 way down the road, there was a tree across the road that had blown down during the night.  I tried to move it, but it wouldn’t budge.  So I pulled the van over to the side of the road as much as I could and walked the rest of the way.

I watched for hawks for about an hour when a few more people “walked” in.  Then a car showed up.  The driver said that he had managed to break the dead tree and pulled it off to the side of the road.  So a few of us walked back to get out vehicles.  I stay for about  3 1/2 hours, finally leaving at 1 PM.  It wasn’t a great day for migration.  I saw about 23 SHARP-SHINNED HAWKS, 3 AMERICAN KESTRELS, 1 PEREGRINE FALCON and 3 BALD EAGLES.  Even though there wasn’t a lot of migration, it was still fun searching the skies.

I will try to get back again, next week if possible.  This is the prime migration time for hawks.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Hawk Cliff

  1. Bob Zeller

    September 11, 2014 at 3:45 pm

    I would be in hog (hawk) heaven if I could see that many hawks in one place. 🙂

     
 
