RSS

Nice summer day

25 Aug

This morning I tackled vacuuming the upstairs.  The ground in this vicinity is mostly sand.  And when I walk Abby in the morning, her hair gets wet from the tall grass and weeds.  Then she picks up sand due to the wet hair and guess where it all ends up.  In the house.  You can feel it when you walk on the tile and wood flooring.  So vacuuming is a fairly frequent activity here.

After lunch I jumped in the van and went for a ride.  I headed south and a little west of Strathroy, sticking to the back roads for the most part.  I crossed over Highway 401, drove thru Dutton and then turned west in Wallacetown onto Highway 3 (the Talbot Line).  I followed this for a bit and then after a couple of miles, I turned south on McKillop Road to the E.M Warwick Conservation Area.  This conservation area runs right down to the Lake Erie shoreline.  This 14 hectare property is comprised of wooded Carolinian forests and ravines.  There are streams and open spaces.  I love this place.  Not sure what draws me here.  It seems to have a lot of potential.  But I did not see much in the way of butterflies.  Hummingbirds were busy working over the abundant yellow flowers along the trail.

This is the first time I have been there this year.  It felt good.  Like seeing an old friend.  I walked down to the cliffside and looked down on the water.  Quite a ways down.

I’ll be back.  Probably in another month when the leaves start to turn.

For some reason, I have a craving for cabbage rolls.

 

 

 

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Nice summer day

  1. Blake Mann

    August 25, 2014 at 8:28 pm

    That CA is a nice spot to go to in late fall and winter as well. Good views of the lake.

     
 
