RSS

First full day in Tucson

14 Aug

I went to bed early last night because I wanted to get up early and head up to the summit of Mt Lemmon.  This is the mountain that looks down on Tucson.  So after I finished the hotel breakfast (a good one), I headed for the hills.

I kinda thought it would be scenic and I wasn’t wrong.  It was INCREDIBLY scenic.  I have driven the Going To the Sun highway over the mountains in Montana several times.  And that is one heck of a drive.  But I must say that today’s drive up and back was just as breath-taking.  My brother would be in heaven here.  So many photographic opportunities.  Put it on your bucket list, Dennis.

I started up into the mountain around 7 AM.  I did not get to the summit until about 3 in the afternoon.  I kept stopping at one pull-off after another to soak in the views.  I don’t have a battery for my camera, so no pictures.  I did take a bunch with my cell phone, and I downloaded them, but I am not very impressed.  The videos I took look good but they turned out sideways and I can’t figure out how to rotate a video.  On the way down the mountain, I was listening to the Sirius XM that is on the car radio.  I listened to the Willie’s Roadhouse channel – old-time country.  It somehow seemed to fit in with the surroundings here.

I kept a list of the birds I saw.  I got 24 species enroute.  Here they are in the order I saw them:

  • Cactus Wren
  • Common Raven
  • Black-throated Sparrow
  • Rock Wren
  • Northern Cardinal
  • Western Tanager
  • Ladder-backed Woodpecker
  • Red-tailed Hawk
  • Lesser Goldfinch
  • Acorn Woodpecker
  • Yellow-eyed Junco
  • Mexican Jay
  • Hermit Thrush
  • Plumbeous Vireo (lifer)
  • Broad-tailed Hummingbird
  • Yellow-rumped Warbler
  • Pygmy Nuthatch
  • Painted Redstart
  • Greater Pewee
  • Hairy Woodpecker
  • Western Bluebird
  • Mountain Chickadee
  • Turkey Vulture
  • Bushtit

There were others I could not identify.  I do not know the songs of these western birds and that hurts.  And there were others that I saw fleetingly.  For example, I saw numerous hummers.  But I did not get a chance to really see them well.

Tomorrow morning I am heading back to the mountains.  A different area.  Sabino Canyon.

Thanks again, Accucaps.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “First full day in Tucson

  1. Bob Zeller

    August 14, 2014 at 1:19 pm

    I enjoyed this post about your Tuscon trip. But I am curious, why no battery for your camera? 🙂

     
 
