RSS

a surprise

21 May

This morning I had a surprise when I got up looked out at my deck.  The was a very wet dog looking in thru the patio door.  The tail was just a wagging like crazy and the dog looked really happy to see me.  I went out to check on this dog.  Very friendly, very docile.  So……………..what to do?  I took Abby for her morning walk and this “new” dog tagged along and then followed up back home.  There was no collar.  I decided to go for another “expanded” walk in the hopes that someone would see us and come running out and thank me for finding the dog.  No such luck.  I called the Animal Care Shelter in Lobo.  They wanted to send someone out to collect the dog.  They wanted to handle it.  But I decided I wanted to wait a bit.  Once they have your dog, it costs $100 to get it back.  I called the radio station and left a notice with them.  And they put this picture on their facebook page.

DSC07254

 

Well, shortly after posting the picture, there was a knock on the door.  The owner had been out looking for the dog and heard that there was a stray at my place.  Word gets around!!!!!  So, all’s well that ends well.  I’m really glad it worked out.  This dog was just too nice to be shipped off to the shelter.

Come noon today, I grabbed a coffee and the book I’m reading and headed over to the Clark Wright Conservation Area.  It was such a beautiful day.  I sat there reading and drinking my coffee for quite some time.

The rest of my afternoon was spent cutting the grass and working some more in the garden. Retirement is grand.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “a surprise

  1. Kim Nichols

    May 21, 2014 at 10:40 pm

    I LOVE happy endings!! Good for you Dave!

     
 
