RSS

6:45 – 7:45 PM

29 Apr

This evening, after supper, I felt the call of the wild.  Well, maybe not the wild, but the local conservation area.  Most of the day was the kind of day that keeps you inside.  Cold, windy, rainy.  Not very pleasant.  But late this afternoon, breaks in the cloud cover began to appear.  And better yet, the wind died down and, maybe it was just my imagination, but it seemed to warm up a bit.

So I headed over to Clark Wright Conservation Area.  The spot is not exactly the birdy-est place around, but it is close by and I know the area well.  A pair of Canada Geese were walking along the edge of the pond near the parking lot.  They did not seem very excited by my presence, which is a little unusual.  As I started down the trail I flushed a couple of the Song Sparrows. I could hear a couple more singing.

Northern Cardinals could be heard singing all along the trail.  There must be many pairs in the area.  A Purple Martin flew overhead in the vicinity of the horse barn.  Near the spruce plantation, I flushed 1/2 dozen White-throated Sparrows.  A Great Blue Heron flew off to the north when I got close to the rear pond at the rear.  The water was smooth.  The wind had died down almost totally.

Honeysuckle bushes are pretty numerous in places along the trail.  They are one of the first plants to leaf out in the spring.  And they are leafed out now.

Call me sentimental, but there are places where I feel a certain tie.  And this pond is one of those places.  I find myself drawn here often.  There isn’t anything very special about this place.  In warmer weather, this pond is clouded with algae, but at this time of the year, it is quite open.

As I sat there on the bench, I could hear an Eastern Towhee singing and singing.  Then I noticed a female towhee scratching in the leaf litter and a Ruby-crowned Kinglet hopping around in a bush nearby.  There were numerous small flying insects buzzing around.  Not sure if kinglets eat small flying insects, but I imagine they do.

On the way back out to the parking lot, I heard a number of American Robins and Red-winged Blackbirds.

Funny…..I still haven’t seen or heard a chickadee or nuthatch since returning from Texas. Chickadees, especially, found in the trees and bushes around my house.  Not yet, but soon, I bet.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “6:45 – 7:45 PM

  1. Bob Zeller

    April 30, 2014 at 10:08 am

    An evening well spent, Dave. Great post.

     
  2. Blake A. Mann

    April 30, 2014 at 8:15 pm

    Chickadees seemed pretty scarce this past winter. Hopefully some will come back in!

     
 
