RSS

My little garden

17 Mar

The better part of the day was spent working on my little garden at the one end of the trailer.

DSC06613(1)

The picture above shows what the garden looked like when we got here.  It was about one foot wide.  It was filled with white stones, lots of weeds and a palm tree of sorts growing up right beside the trailer.

DSC06642

I picked out all of the white stones and the layer of clam shells that were underneath the stones.

DSC06691(1)

I dug out the new shape.  Removed the soil.  I made it about 5 feet wide.

DSC07035

And this is what it looks like now.  I ran out of black mulch and will have to get another bag at Walmart.  I transplanted the palm tree out between the garden and the road.  I have four plants.  I am hoping they will attract butterflies and hummingbirds.  It will be interesting to see how this little garden develops.  I suspect that when we get back here next year, there will be a lot of weeding to be done.  I just hope they survive over any dry spells that hit the valley.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “My little garden

  1. Anonymous

    March 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

    Looks really nice Dave. What a difference!

     
 
