RSS

well…sometimes things just don’t go as planned

11 Mar

This morning, our birding group was supposed to meet with Tony, the park manager.  This meeting had been arranged in advance.  In fact, picked the date, time and place for the meeting.  We waited and waited and finally Tony called the office and told the office girl to explain to us that something came up and he would not be able to meet with us today.  So I figured I might as well head off and do some birding.  First stop was Lake Tiacano.  Numerous American Bittern were calling from the marsh.  I saw two in flight and heard thunder-pumping from several areas.  I figure there were at least 4 or 5 birds in the marsh (probably more).  Next stop was the Longoria Unit of the National Wildlife Refuge.  That didn’t work out.  It was closed for hunting.  Not sure what they would be hunting unless it was Javelinas.  So I just started driving around on some of the back roads.  I didn’t stay out long.  But at one point, I saw some CRESTED CARACARAS.  I took this picture of two birds together.  Must be spring in the air.

2014_03_11_9999_21(1)

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “well…sometimes things just don’t go as planned

  1. Blake A. Mann

    March 12, 2014 at 11:41 am

    Spring is not up here! Terrible snow storm today. Just came home early from work which was an interesting drive. The migrants that arrived yesterday are probably in shock!

     
 
