RSS

pleasant surprise

31 Jan

I have been told that migration starts as early as February into this part of Texas.  I did not know this.  But early yesterday morning, while walking my dog, I saw a Yellow-throated Warbler the cracks and crevices of a small palm tree.  And then later in the afternoon, on the opposite side of the park, I noticed another Yellow-throated Warbler taking a bath in someone’s bird bath.  It might have been the same bird, but I think it is more likely a second bird.  I am not sure if these are “new” birds, recently arrived from points south.  There are some reports of Yellow-throated Warblers in the Lower Valley, but these are the first ones I  have encountered down here this year.

Other warblers over-wintering in the valley are Black-throated Gray, Wilson’s, Painted Redstart, Tropical Parula, Black-and-White, American Redstart, Orange-crowned (numerous) and Common Yellow-throat.

At one end of my trailer, there are a couple of windows looking out on the road and on the trailers on the other side of the street.  There is an awning extending out from the trailer over the window.  I have hung a platform feeder from this awning.  It is about 1 foot from the window.  My table with my computer is right beside the window.  Yesterday I sliced up an apple for the feeder.  It didn’t take long for the Northern Mockingbirds and the Curve-billed Thrashers to find the apple pieces.  I can sit here at my table and watch these birds from 3 feet away.  It is fun and very interesting to observe this birds at such close range.

Yesterday morning I went out for a drive in the country, checking out the back-roads just like I do back home.  In a small town just north of here, Santa Rosa, I saw about 15 Long-billed Curlews feeding in the front yard of a house along the main street in town.  I just couldn’t drive on without taking a few pictures.

2014_01_30_7845(1)

coming or going?

coming or going?

2014_01_30_7792(1)

2014_01_30_7794(1)

 

 
Comments Off on pleasant surprise

Posted by on January 31, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
