RSS

Keeping busy

22 Jan

Tuesday morning I spent raking leaves and cleaning up around the trailer.  There is a tree right behind the trailer and it has been dropping leaves continually since we arrived.  But now all the leaves are down.  So I started tackling this job.  The yard is about the same size as the yard back in Strathroy.  I stopped around noon.  No need to get all the work done in one day!!!!  So I grabbed my book and headed over to the library for the afternoon.  Read a little, watch the feeders out the window, read a little, watch a little.  And what did I see?  Best bird was a female Painted Bunting.  I saw it 3 times.  Never stuck around for long.  And I didn’t have my camera with me.  Dang!!!!

So Wednesday morning (today) I went back and this time I took my camera.  Spent just about the whole morning there.  One of the park residents dropped in with a couple more feeder and ask me to put them up for her.  We talked for a bit and the Bunting showed up and before I could get my camera ready, it flew off.  Didn’t see it again after that.

Wednesday afternoon, I got into more raking.  Finished the raking and now I have about 5 piles of leaves to bag up tomorrow.  Like I said……………I am trying to spread this work thing out.

I want to do a little landscaping around the trailer, too.  There is room to put some flowers and/or plants between the trailer and road.  Some of the places are very nicely landscaped.  Others have none.  I want to plant things that will attract butterflies and hummingbirds.  I want to put in a water drip also to attract birds.

Last night, it almost got down to freezing.  3 C when I got up this morning.  And later this week (Friday), a high of 8 C and rain is forecast.  I realize that this is not cold at all compared to what friends back in Strathroy are experiencing.  And certainly thinking about them.

Went and refilled our water jugs this evening.  5 (1 gallon) plastic jugs.  $1.00  This water is used for drinking, coffee, etc.  The water connected to the trailer we use for washing dishes, showering, etc.  I will try to remember to take some pictures of the place and post them here.

 
Comments Off on Keeping busy

Posted by on January 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
