RSS

Hung out in the library

09 Jan

The library is a about a 10 minute walk down the road.  It is adjacent to the dog runs.  Along one side of the library there are a series of windows and just outside of the these windows there are several birdfeeders.  I threw some bird seed in these feeders on Tuesday and it didn’t take long for the birds to find it.  I took my novel down to the library Wednesday afternoon and sat in one of the comfortable padded rocking chairs in front of the windows looking out on the feeders. A flash of yellow caught my eye and as I looked a couple of Green Jays came in.  As I sat there reading and watching out the window occasionally, I also saw a pair of Golden-fronted Woodpeckers, a Curve-billed Thrasher, a couple of White-winged Doves and one Inca Dove..

From what I have seen so far, there are fewer birds here than what I saw last year.  Makes sense.  The only species that has appeared in high numbers right now is the Great-tailed Grackle.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Hung out in the library

  1. Blake A. Mann

    January 9, 2014 at 9:37 pm

    Wouldn’t mind seeing a few of those birds right now!

     
 
