RSS

a new angle

11 Nov

My living room has three chairs, a couch, three tables and a television.  I imagine most people have a particular chair that they most often use.  For whatever reason, whenever they go to sit down in their living-room, they almost always sit in the same chair.  I am like most people in this regard.

But this morning, I decided to sit in a different chair.  Actually, it was on the couch, near the window.  And doing this, it made me think about perspectives.  By always doing the same thing, like always sitting in the same chair, you always keep the same perspective.  There is something to be said for familiarity.  Keeping the same focus, maintaining for familiar point of view.  But shaking things up a bit, by simply moving to a chair you hardly, if ever, sit in, you see things differently.

Sitting on the end of the couch, reading, drinking coffee, with the sun streaming in over my shoulder, providing an excellent source of light on the pages of the book, the sounds of Bud Powell playing the piano sweetly drifting across the room from the iPhone nestled in its JBL speaker system, I see things differently as I look about the room.  At the far side of the kitchen, I can see the huge oak tree that stands on the other side of the wetland out behind the house.  I see this oak tree every time I look out in that direction when I am in the kitchen.  But from the couch, from this angle, it is a new and different perspective, point of view.

From here, I see the chair where I normally sit, the clock that is normally behind me is now plainly visible, my portrait hanging on the wall at the top of the stairs leading to the downstairs stares back at me.  When I sit in my regular seat, the portrait is behind me, and I don’t see it staring at me.

Not a bad idea to change things up once in a while.  Something fresh.  Look at things around us, things we see every day, from a new angle.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on November 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “a new angle

  1. Kim Nichols

    November 12, 2013 at 12:36 am

    Dave,
    I really enjoyed your posting! So true.

     
 
