RSS

Sometimes, things just don’t work out

05 Nov

Life has its ups and downs.  I have never met anyone that is happy and upbeat all the time.  Sometimes, things just don’t work out the way we want or hope they would.  And it gets you down.  It might be something big and it can just as easily be something inconsequential.  But whatever, the “blues” are a part of life.

And today is one of the days.  Melancholy. I didn’t sleep well last night.  Tossed and turned.  Tried to get my mind to shut down.  So I was up quite early and I have been just sitting here going thru my blog.  I started this blog on January 25, 2009.  Almost 5 years now and nearly 20,000 hits.

A lot has happened in these last 5 years.  Retired from a job I had for 31 years.  Sold my house and moved into a condo.  Acquired another job and held it for 2 1/2 years and then retired from there.  Made two trips to California (one for birding and one a family reunion/vacation).  Took a trip to New Mexico.  Made a couple of trips to Texas (one for birding and one to check out a park model trailer in a gated trailer park).  We subsequently bought the park model trailer in Texas (close to the Mexican border).

A lot of fun and exciting things.  But still, like I said, there are still times when the “blues” will sneak up and set you back a bit.

Here are some of the pics I saw as I went thru my blog.

This was one of the first pictures I posted

This was one of the first pictures I posted

This conservation area is located close to home and I go walking there often.  I have so many wonderful memories of time spent here

This conservation area is located close to home and I go walking there often. I have so many wonderful memories of time spent here

I have taken many walks on the trails at Longwoods

I have taken many walks on the trails at Longwoods

I have gone camping at the Big Bend Conservation Area.  More warm thoughts of this locality.

I have gone camping at the Big Bend Conservation Area. More warm thoughts of this locality.

Walking the trails at Rondeau Provincial Park has brought numerous hours of pure joy

Walking the trails at Rondeau Provincial Park has brought numerous hours of pure joy

One of the Talbot Land Trust's properties, the trails here are pretty neat.  You never know what you might find.

One of the Talbot Land Trust’s properties, the trails here are pretty neat. You never know what you might find.

Trekking off to Hawk Cliff is a tradition.  My heart skips a couple of beats each time I turned on Hawk Cliff Road

Trekking off to Hawk Cliff is a tradition. My heart skips a couple of beats each time I turned on Hawk Cliff Road

The Pinery Provincial Park is close to my heart also.  Swimming, picnics, canoeing, trail walking.  Neat to have a Chickadee fly down onto your hand.  What a memory.

The Pinery Provincial Park is close to my heart also. Swimming, picnics, canoeing, trail walking. Neat to have a Chickadee fly down onto your hand. What a memory.

This little turtle was found on the South Point Trail at Rondeau

This little turtle was found on the South Point Trail at Rondeau

This Garter Snake was found along the South Point Trail at Rondeau, also

This Garter Snake was found along the South Point Trail at Rondeau, also

Snuck up on this Green Heron as it tried to hide near the pond at the rear of the Clark Wright Conservation Area

Snuck up on this Green Heron as it tried to hide near the pond at the rear of the Clark Wright Conservation Area

I have spent many hours sitting on this bench at the pond at the back of the Clark Wright Conservation Area

I have spent many hours sitting on this bench at the pond at the back of the Clark Wright Conservation Area

Found this Milk Snake on the trail at Clark Wright

Found this Milk Snake on the trail at Clark Wright

Called out this Screech Owl at Clark Wright

Called out this Screech Owl at Clark Wright

Close to home, the Strathroy Conservation Area has been the source of many enjoyable walks and exploration.

Close to home, the Strathroy Conservation Area has been the source of many enjoyable walks and exploration.

The trip down to Kingsville to see this Great Gray Owl is unforgetable

The trip down to Kingsville to see this Great Gray Owl is unforgetable

When this Black-throated Sparrow showed up over near Long Point, a trip to see it was definitely in order

When this Black-throated
Sparrow showed up over near Long Point, a trip to see it was definitely in order

This is the location of a Short-eared Owl roost (a wet, swampy depression) just south of Melbourne.  I have made many, many trips to sit and wait for the owls to take flight.

This is the location of a Short-eared Owl roost (a wet, swampy depression) just south of Melbourne. I have made many, many trips to sit and wait for the owls to take flight.

The E.M. Warwick Conservation Area, on the shore of Lake Erie, has been one of my favourite destinations.  On most trips, I didn't bother going down to the water's edge.  But I did get this shot on one such occasion.

The E.M. Warwick Conservation Area, on the shore of Lake Erie, has been one of my favourite destinations. On most trips, I didn’t bother going down to the water’s edge. But I did get this shot on one such occasion.

I had many happy hours working on this zig saw puzzle.  It hangs on my wall down in my study and is one of my most prized possessions.

I had many happy hours working on this zig saw puzzle. It hangs on my wall down in my study and is one of my most prized possessions.

I have gone to look at this eagles nest at the Pinery many times

I have gone to look at this eagles nest at the Pinery many times

img_20231

Snowy Owls seem to like it around here. They show up almost every year. I have driven the back roads a lot in search of these beautiful birds.

Spotted this odd-looking Coyote on one of my back road explorations.

Spotted this odd-looking Coyote on one of my back road explorations.

When a Ross's Goose shows up close to home, you just have to jump in the car and go see it.  This one was at Springbank Park in London

When a Ross’s Goose shows up close to home, you just have to jump in the car and go see it. This one was at Springbank Park in London

A Raccoon was trying to stay out of sight, but was spotted along one of the country roads outside of town

A Raccoon was trying to stay out of sight, but was spotted along one of the country roads outside of town

I can very clearly remember seeing these Tundra Swans one spring just outside of town

I can very clearly remember seeing these Tundra Swans one spring just outside of town

Seeing my "first of the season" Red-headed Woodpecker is always a treat.  This one was at Rondeau

Seeing my “first of the season” Red-headed Woodpecker is always a treat. This one was at Rondeau

Sometimes, you just have to stop the car and check out interesting shops encountered along the way.  This is quite the bookstore

Sometimes, you just have to stop the car and check out interesting shops encountered along the way. This is quite the bookstore

 

WOW!!!! That was cathartic.  Is that the right word??  So many memories. So much to hold on to. .

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Sometimes, things just don’t work out

  1. Bob Zeller

    November 5, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Thanks for sharing those wonderful memories of yours. 🙂

     
  2. kestrelhill

    November 5, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    When I’m having a down day, it often helps to look back through my blog, photos and bird lists –nothing like being reminded of my life Golden-winged Warbler to make a day better.

    I am so jealous of your owl pictures!

     
 
