RSS

a man with many hats

28 Oct

There is a saying about a person wearing many hats.  This idiom refers to the many roles or tasks a person has to perform.  But in my case it can be taken literally.

???????????????????????????????

About four years ago, we went to Florida for a little over a week and stayed with friends in Punta Gorda.  Not far from Punta Gorda, there is a rehabilitation center for birds, the Peace River Wildlife Center. I visited the center twice.  It was a fascinating place, with beautiful birds either “on the mend” or permanently ensconced at the center.  I purchased this hat as a souvenir and a reminder of my visits to the center.

???????????????????????????????

During that same stay in Florida, I visited the Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary.  The Corkscrew Swamp Sanctuary is a 14,000 acre wildlife sanctuary located near Naples Florida.  Founded in 1954, its contains the largest stand of virgin Balk Cypress forest in North America.

???????????????????????????????

A number of years ago, we made a trip to Montana to visit my brother.  He has lived in Kalispell, Montana for the better part of his life.  Kalispell is situated near the western entrance to Glacier National Park, in the Flathead River valley.  During our visit, my brother took us on a number of scenic drives.  One of the places he took us to was the National Bison Range.  I purchased this hat at the visitor center at the bison range.  It has long been one of my favorite hats.  On one occasion, I was wearing the hat while exploring the area along the Thames River near Komoka with a friend.  When I got home, I realized that I didn’t have my hat.  I had somehow lost it, probably somewhere along the Thames River.  About a week later, another trip to the area was made to see if I could locate the hat.  And sure enough, I found it.  To be truthful, someone else had found it and hung it on a post along the trail where it would be seen.  And that is where I found it.

???????????????????????????????

A couple of years ago, I attended the Lower Rio Grande River Valley Birding Festival with my friend Bob Turner.  We had a great time.  It was our first time in Texas and there are so many neat areas to explore in that neck of the woods.  I bought a hat to remind me of the festival and the great field trips we made.

???????????????????????????????

One of the areas we visited while in the Lower Rio Grande Valley, was South Padre Island and specifically, the World Birding Center on the Island.  In the visitor center they had a variety of hats for sale.  I saw this hat for sale there and felt that it really said something to me.  (like “Buy me, buy me!!!”)  But for some reason that I cannot remember,  I did not buy the hat.  However, when I got home from my trip, I looked for the hat on the internet and actually purchased one over the net.

???????????????????????????????

Another area we visited my in the Rio Grande Valley was the Bentsen State Park.  We saw lots of neat birds here.  And my friend, Bob, bought this hat at the visitor center.  But when he got home, he decided he already had a lot of hats and wondered if I would be interesting in buying it off him.  Well, I just couldn’t say “No”.  So now this hat is in my collection and it spends just about as much time on my head as it does in my closet.

???????????????????????????????

Hats are very much a part of my attire.  I don’t have a Tilley Hat.  But I do have a kind of cowboy, Stetson type of hat that I bought some years back as part of a costume of sorts.  However, when I was in Texas earlier this year, I was browsing thru the local TSC Store and noticed a stand of hats, “Cowboy” hats.  I tried one on and really liked the “feel” of it.  I have a sense that I will be purchasing that hat sometime over the winter when we get back down there.

P.S.  I think I have way too much time on my hands.

 

 
Comments Off on a man with many hats

Posted by on October 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
