RSS

The last couple of days have been a whirlwind of activity and I’m exhausted

15 Sep

DAY TWO

The group I was with started off at 6:30 AM.  We went back to Moss’s Landing (south of Santa Cruz), then we went over to the site of a former salt reclamation area.  Basically, this area is a series of holding cells and sloughs, following that we went over to the Elkhorn Slough and walked the trails.  We saw a total of 63 species.  This included 3 “lifers” for me.  A total for the trip so far of 12 “lifers”.  This was just a half-day field trip.

Since we had the afternoon free, Bob and I drove down to Monterey to get the lay of the land, because we have to be there Saturday morning at 7 AM and we wanted to make sure we knew just where to go and where to park, etc.  Monterey is a pretty neat place.  There was a huge “classic” car show going on so we had a look around at that.  Traffic between Monterey and Watsonville (where we are staying), is incredibly busy.  It is very so going so by the time we got back it was early evening.  Friday night I was signed up for an owl prowl in Robinson Canyon in Carmel.  I skipped supper and headed over to meet my group.  There were nine of us and off we went at 8:45 PM.  We were shooting for 7 species of owl.  Unfortunately, we only managed to get Great Horned Owl.  All the others were silent.  However, I did get GREAT views of a Bobcat in the headlights as we traveled into the canyon.  By the time I got back to the motel from the owling trip, it was almost 1 AM.  I went right to sleep because we had to get up at 4:30 AM to head out for Monterey Bay and the pelagic trip with Debbie Shearwater.  (Shearwater Journey’s).

DAY THREE

So with very little sleep, we headed to Monterey.  There was a group of about 25 people boarding the boat at 7:00 AM on Saturday.  Debbie introduced herself and spelled out the ground-rules for the trip and we were off.  Cold and misty morning.  I wore gloves and a touque (hat).  We had great time out on Monterey Bay.  We saw 23 species, (including Sabine’s Gull).  Of the 23 species, 6 were “lifers”, for a cumulative trip total of 18 “lifers”.  We also saw Humpback Whales, Orca Whales, California Sea Lions, seals and Sea Otters.

We were back on land at 3 PM.  So we jumped into the car and headed to Big Sur to have a look.  Spectacular beauty. Big Sur has always been a place that I have wanted to see.

Now I am REALLY tired and I’m heading to bed.  We are heading back into the same area Big Sur tomorrow with a group to bird that area and look especially for California Condors.

Good night my friends

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 15, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “The last couple of days have been a whirlwind of activity and I’m exhausted

  1. Bob Zeller

    September 15, 2013 at 2:05 pm

    I am enjoying your trip. 🙂

     
 
