RSS

Afternoon walk at Clark Wright

22 Aug

This afternoon, I headed over to Clark Wright for a walk around the trail.  It had rained earlier in the day, but things were pretty well dried out by the time I got there.  A MILBERT’S TORTOISESHELL was fluttering around in the parking lot.  It spent most of the time soaking up the heat from the sun-baked gravel.

The trails here are very well-kept by the Conservation Authority.  The grasses, weeds and bushes on either side of the trail provide a tall border.  In places, it is almost like walking in a tunnel.

I didn’t see much in the way of other butterflies.  Some COMMON RINGLETS and I caught a glimpse of a dark swallowtail, might have been a SPICEBUSH.

A few birds were calling.  But  for the most part they stayed out of sight.  Saw a couple of NORTHERN FLICKERS, some BLUE JAYS and an AMERICAN REDSTART.  Back at the pond, I was surprised at how quiet it was.  The last few times I have been here the place was awash in CEDAR WAXWINGS.  But today I didn’t see a single one.  Didn’t hear any, either.

There are lots of things that a person could do to while a way these retirement hours.  I have found that there is so much to learn about  the world of nature, butterflies, birds, wild flowers and even trees, bushes and grasses.  It provides me with a sense of fulfillment.  I get the exercise, the fresh air and the pure enjoyment of observing and learning about the natural world around us.

I am also keeping myself busy these days preparing for my trip to California in early September.  I am pretty excited.  There is much to read up on and study in preparation for this trip.  My North American bird list currently stands at 502.  I am hoping that this will increase to about 520 by the end of the trip.

Well, it is getting late and I still want to get some reading done before I hit the sack.  Goodnight, my friends.

 
Comments Off on Afternoon walk at Clark Wright

Posted by on August 22, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Comments are closed.

 
