RSS

Strathroy Sewage Lagoons

21 Aug

Today I received an email saying that a male EARED GREBE was seen at the lagoons today in the company of a female HORNED GREBE.  I headed over there (10 minute drive) to check it out.  I managed to find the birds in question.  The birds were out in the middle of the north cell and I did not have my scope.  With my binoculars and my camera, I could not get a very good view of the EARED GREBE.  This is the best pic I could get.

2013_08_21_2771(1)

I will head back there tomorrow if the weather is decent and take my scope and try again.

While I was there I saw a couple of nice butterflies.

AMERICAN LADY with wings closed.

AMERICAN LADY with wings closed.

AMERICAN LADY

AMERICAN LADY

MILBERT'S TORTOISESHELL with wings closed

MILBERT’S TORTOISESHELL with wings closed

MILBERT'S TORTOISESHELL

MILBERT’S TORTOISESHELL

Test

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Strathroy Sewage Lagoons

  1. Blake A. Mann

    August 21, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    Very nice. I have yet to see and Eared Grebe this year.
    You are finding some good butterflies this summer too!

     
  2. kestrelhill

    August 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm

    I’d love to see one, but I’m on the wrong side of the continent.
    Isn’t it funny how birders’ favorite places are all swamps and dumps and sewage lagoons? 🙂

     
 
