RSS

Taking advantage….

16 Aug

So what does a fellow do on a Thursday after he spends the day before at Fingal Wildlife Management Area?  He goes right back to explore the place even further, this time checking out an area at the site that he missed first time around. So instead of parking at the Fingal Line parking area, I drove down Scotch Road (off the Fingal Line) to the parking area adjacent to the Ian Carmichael Pond and the tall grass prairie.  (There are actually three parking areas for this wildlife area.)  I have not had much experience with tall grass prairies, and I wanted to see what it was like.  I don’t know the names of the various prairie plants.  But I thoroughly enjoyed the visit.

DSC06240(1)

The grass is indeed tall.  And there were lots of different, colourful wildflowers throughout.

DSC06251(1)

The area is criss-crossed with numerous, well-kept hiking trails.  Just my kind of place.  I was very impressed with the way this site is maintained.

I saw numerous Clearwing Moths.  I am not sure whether the one in this picture is a Hummingbird Clearwing or a Snowberry Clearwing, but I am leaning towards the Hummingbird.

???????????????????????????????

Eastern Tailed Blue butterflies were numerous.  They are quite small, smaller than a penny in size.  I am always amazed that size does not matter when it comes to being colourful and intricately patterned.

Eastern Tailed Blue

In flight, these butterflies stay close to the ground.  The blue colour is very obvious in flight.  But when they alight on a leaf with their wings folded up, they can so easily be over-looked.

Eastern Tailed Blue (2)

If you get an afternoon with a couple of hours on your hands, take a drive down to the Fingal Wildlife Management area and spend a couple of hours wandering around this tall grass prairie. It is a 40 minute drive south of Strathroy.  Just take the Melbourne Road straight south until you get to the Fingal Line, then turn right.  A couple of kilometers down Fingal you come to Scotch Road.  Turn right onto Scotch Road and continue to the parking area on your left.  Mosquitoes were not bad.  The trail is very well-kept.  You will be glad you made the effort.

I always try to take advantage of the days that I have available to get away, even if just for an afternoon.  Seems that there is always so many other things that need to be done, appointments to keep, errands to run, etc.  So I had two days in a row to enjoy myself and I took advantage of them while I could.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Taking advantage….

  1. Blake A. Mann

    August 17, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Stopped in at Fingal today (Sat.) Always an interesting spot. Saw a Canada Warbler along the woods.

     
 
