RSS

Party at my place tonight.

05 Apr

Last night was my final shift at Accucaps.  And tonight I am having a party to celebrate.  I have invited approximately 15 people to drop around for the evening.  Should be a very good time

At 2 AM (this morning – our night shift lunch-time), my coworkers presented me with a terrific retirement/best wishes cake and some wonderful, thoughtful gifts.  I took some pictures of my gifts when I got home and I am happy to share them with you.

One of favourite past-times is driving around on the area back-roads looking for birds and other aspects of the natural world.  A coffee mug sure comes in handy.  And I was given a great stainless steel, insulated travel mug.  And also a Petro-Canada gift card to help defray the cost of gasoline.  Very thoughtful.

Coffee Mug(1)

I love to read and I love bird books.  The group presented me with a wonderful book on birds.  It is full of terrific pictures and jam-packed with information and is published by the Audubon Society.

Bird Book(1)

In keeping with the theme of birds and birding, I also received a beautiful, hand-crafted bird house.  I have just the place for this sweet treasure and I’m sure some new neighbors will move in this spring.

Bird House91)

And to feed my feathered friends, I received this bird-feeder.  This is an exquisite feeder with 3 tubes and a bronze roof and base.  Very sturdy and should last a life-time.

Bird Feeder(1) 

And also, my friends, Michelle (from work) and her husband, Tom, gave me a bottle of wine from the Pelee Island Winery.

Wine Bottle(1)

It is difficult to express just how much I appreciate the thoughtfulness that went into my farewell luncheon.  I was caught completely off-guard and had absolutely no idea that my co-workers would go to that much effort.  It was wonderful.  I have been working with a great bunch of people for the past 3 years.  In many ways it was like a family atmosphere at work.  More than just co-workers.  They are friends.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Party at my place tonight.

  1. Cory

    April 5, 2013 at 4:28 pm

    Congratulations, Dad! I wish I could be there tonight. Enjoy your retirement!

     
  2. dennis skinner

    April 5, 2013 at 6:16 pm

    Dave, enjoy your retirement and have a good time at your party. I imagine there will be more posts on the mogg blog now that you have a little more time on your hands, I’ll look forward to seeing them. I read and enjoy your posts. dennis

     
  3. Blake Mann

    April 5, 2013 at 8:16 pm

    Enjoy your retirement Dave! More time for birding!

     
  4. Bob Zeller

    April 6, 2013 at 12:49 pm

    Congrats, David. I agree with all of the above comments. Now you can get back to what you enjoy most, your reading and birding.

     
  5. Kellie S.

    April 7, 2013 at 11:42 am

    Wow, what thoughtful gifts! Congrats on retiring! Now on to more birding and blogging! Can’t wait to read about your continuing adventures.

     
  6. Jerry K

    April 10, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    Well done Dave. A second retirement. Hope to see you at Rondeau and / Point Pelee.

     
 
