RSS

Albuquerque – Day 1

17 Feb

Actually, there were no “organized” field trips today.  It was basically just check-in/registration day.  And that didn’t start until 7:45 PM.  So I had the day to myself.  And since I didn’t rent a car, I just hoofed it from the hotel to wherever I wanted to go.  First on my list, was the Rio Grande Nature Centre State Park.  I is located about a mile from the hotel.  I started early, right after breakfast. 

I saw four different species of dove on the way to the nature centre:

  • Rock Pigeon
  • Eurasian Collared Dove
  • White-winged Dove
  • Mourning Dove

IMG_2790(1)

I also saw a Greater Roadrunner in a front yard at 2745 Rio Grande Road.

IMG_2851(1)

This bird was very tolerant of my presence.  It seemed to “hanging out” close to the sidewalk.  Traffic whizzing by no more than 10 feet away.

IMG_3184(1)

The pond at the Nature Centre had many ducks and geese.

  • Cackling Goose
  • Canada Goose
  • Wood Duck
  • Gadwall
  • Mallard
  • Northern Shoveler
  • Green-winged Teal
  • Ring-necked Duck
  • Lesser Scaup

IMG_2966(1)

At the Nature Centre, there is a trail that goes down to the Rio Grande River.  Along this trail, there were lots of American Crows, doves, a couple of Bushtits, a White-breasted Nuthatch, some Dark-eyed Juncos, LOTS of White-crowned Sparrows,some small groups of House Finch, and some Red-winged Blackbirds.  A couple of American Coots were seen in a bit of water between the Nature Centre and the Rio Grande.River.  Along the river, there were lots of American Robins, a couple of Western Scrub-Jays (this is my first LIFER of the trip), several Spotted Towhees, a Red-tailed Hawk sitting at the top of a small tree on the other side of the river and a Northern Flicker eating some kind of berry at the river’s edge.

Back at the nature centre, I spent some time looking at the numerous Cackling Geese.

IMG_3105(1)

And as I was thinking about leaving, about 20 or so Sandhill Cranes flew in the fields beyond the pond.  And a few landed in an open space adjacent to the parking lot.

IMG_3087(1)

 

 

 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Albuquerque – Day 1

  1. Don Keenliside

    February 17, 2013 at 6:39 am

    Good morning, Dave! Sounds like a wonderful time. Blessings! Don

     
  2. Ruth

    February 17, 2013 at 8:43 am

    The Roadrunner has been an elusive species for me during my recent trips to Mexico. You got great pics of it! (and all the other birds as well) Happy birding. I prefer the weather you are having to the bitter cold here this morning.

     
  3. Bob

    February 17, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    Sounds good Dave…especially the Roadrunner which we missed in Texas. Glad you got to see it! Have fun!
    Bob

     
  4. Kim Nichols

    February 17, 2013 at 11:03 pm

    Looking forward to your next posting. Love the pictures!

     
 
