RSS

what a difference a day makes

28 Dec

Yesterday, was the Strathroy Christmas Bird Count.  By all accounts, it was quite successful.  60 species.  The average over the 16 years of this count is 56 species.  So 60 is pretty darn good.  There was a lot of snow.  And it was pretty cold. 

Yesterday, Bob Turner and I found 5 gorgeous male Eastern Bluebirds.  I went back out today to try to get a picture of one.  But today I could not relocate them.

Although Common Redpolls were seen by another group in the count.  I didn’t see them.  So, today, while out, I came across a flock of approx 200 of these beautiful little birds.

And yesterday we searched and searched for Short-eared Owls.  Not a one.  But today, while driving down Hyndman Road, I came across one sitting on a fence post and got this picture.

IMG_2323

A count week bird.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 28, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “what a difference a day makes

  1. Ruth

    December 29, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Wow! I would love to come across an owl on a fence post. Great find and great picture.

     
  2. Blake Mann

    December 29, 2012 at 9:29 pm

    Very nice of the owl!
    Wallaceburg CBC went well despite lots of snow. Some very good birds found. More later.

     
 
