RSS

the weekend

18 Dec

This past weekend, I spent doing Christmas Bird Count.  Saturday I participated in the London CBC and on Sunday I participated in the Blenheim CBC.

These all-day events are quite strenuous as they walking is the order for the day.  In London, the group I was in covered the Komoka Provincial Park.  This park borders the Thames River near Komoka.  It also includes some rather large gravel pits and are basically lakes now.  For our all efforts, we did not find many birds in the park.  Nothing to get excited about.  But it was nonetheless fun.  But the “pits” were full of ducks and geese.  There were two highlights there.  First a group of tightly packed American Coots.  Over 100 of these birds in one of the back ponds.  And second, sitting on the ice on the main pond, there were 4 Bald Eagles.  One adult and three immatures.  That was neat to see.

The Blenheim count was quite different.  First of all, it was alot warmer.  For the better part of the afternoon, I discarded my jacket and wore a sweatshirt.  I was just too hot, walking around with my jacket on.  We tallied 40 species.  Including a Northern Shrike AND I found a Saw-Whet Owl.  And while looking at this owl a second Saw-Whet starting calling from somewhere close by.  We couldn’t locate the second owl.  A Saw-Whet Owl is about the size of a small drinking glass.  Here is a picture of the Saw-Whet I found.

Saw-Whet Owl2.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “the weekend

  1. Bob Zeller

    December 18, 2012 at 8:08 am

    An awesome shot of the Saw-whet Owl. Thanks for posting it, Dave.

     
 
