RSS

Clark Wright Conservation Area

24 Oct

Finally,  a day came along that wasn’t filled with overcast skies and rain.  AND I did not have to work today.  For the past week, I have been watching the weather forecast for today.  Up until a couple of days ago, it was showing rain all day today.  So I did not have my hopes up. But this morning, when I looked at the forecast, it indicated that this afternoon the skies would clear and it would be sunny and warm.  And BINGO.  The weather man was right.  The temperature reached 18 C (65 F)

Of course, I headed out after lunch.  At 1 PM I pulled into the bird seed farm on Walker’s Road, just south of town.  Then I headed down the road to the Clark Wright Conservation Area.  There are still alot of colourful trees around. 

Tulip Tree found along the trail just a short distance from the parking lot.

As usual, there were not any other people to be seen.  Today, the conservation area was very birdy  The first bird I saw was this Red-tailed Hawk flying in circles over the area.

I could hear American Robins calling occasionally.  A couple of Crows were raising a ruckus at one point and I thought I heard an Great Horned Owl call.  Kinglets were found in good numbers, especially Ruby-crowned Kinglets.

Yellow-rumped Warblers were everywhere.  But try as I might, I could not get a picture.  Mixed in with the warblers, were Black-capped Chickadees.

White-throated Sparrows were also scattered around.  Most, like this one skulked deep in the understory, not really wanting to show themselves.

The pond at the back was covered with a lot of green algae.  But it was quiet and there were no insects around.  Very peaceful.  I sat there for quite a while.  Wondering what might come along, I watched more Chickadees and Yellow-rumps in the bushes around the pond.  Eventually, I got up and sauntered on back towards the parking lot.  Along the way, I encountered this Common Buckeye.

Of special note:  Tonight on the PBS show NATURE the show is all about Snowy Owls.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 24, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Clark Wright Conservation Area

  1. bigrab

    October 25, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Great photos as usual Dave. I hope you’re doing well.

     
 
