RSS

Pictorial review of the trip out west – Chapter One

12 Aug

Carol and I met up with my sister and my brother and his wife in Seattle.  We arrived on Friday, the 27th and left to travel down the west coast to San Francisco on Monday, the 30th. 

Here we are.

The Seattle sky-line from the ferry to Bainbridge Island

My sister-in-law and I with the Seattle sky-line in the background.

One of the more colourful passengers on the ferry.

Carol and I in the lobby of our hotel in Seattle.

We spent the better part of Sunday at the Pike Place Market.  This the market where they throw the fish.

Checking out the fish for sale.

Great little bakery at the market.

A planter.

There was a flower booth in the market with the most amazing, colourful flowers for sales.  $5 each.  Can’t believe how inexpensive they were.

Hanging peppers.

Mozaic public washrooms.

Someone’s feathered friend.

Looking down from above.

The very first Starbuck’s.

Strumming the banjo in front of Starbuck’s.

Getting ready to peddle her wares.

A mirror image.

My brother, sister with a fellow market-goer.

One of the peddlers.

Aprons for sale.

Strumming away.

Fish food??

Just another summer Sunday morning.

Street corner musician.

Cup of coffee, anyone??

Accordian player in the alley.

All in all, it was a very scary place.

That is enough of the market.  Chapter Two will show what we encountered as we headed down the coast. 

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Pictorial review of the trip out west – Chapter One

  1. Heather

    August 12, 2012 at 12:12 pm

    great pics…brings back memories from 2 years ago when I went to visit my 1/2 sister…..thanks for sharing

     
  2. Bob Zeller

    August 12, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    Dave, thanks for sharing all of your photos of your trip. I am enjoying them,as I will never get there to see such places.

     
  3. Mark Allan

    August 12, 2012 at 1:31 pm

    Seattle was nice when I visited many years ago. San Francisco was awesome. Kimberley wants to visit there and I’d love to go back.
    Great pix. Thanks for sharing.
    I hope Carol is doing OK. that looks like a lot of hoofing around on her poor foot. What a trip, though. The West is the Best, eh!

     
  4. Sheila Skinner

    August 15, 2012 at 7:49 pm

    You really captured our Seattle trip beautifully ! Hope you guys had as much fun as I did.

     
 
