RSS

weatherman was wrong

02 Jun

Today, the forecast was for rain showers all day.  And our church was scheduled to have a BBQ in the parking lot to raise money for our building fund.  In a situation like this, the volunteers meet at the designated time, have a look at the weather and decide whether or not to proceed.  Well, at 6:15 AM, I arrived at the parking lot.  One other fellow was already there.  Within 15 minutes the rest of the crew pulled in.  And it wasn’t raining!!!!  Well, we decided to go for it.  We put up the tent.  (This takes four people.  It is quite heavy!!)  Got the BBQ’s fired up and the tables set up.  There was about 7 of us.  And the day just kept getting nicer and nicer.  Toward the end of the morning, there was mostly blue sky.  My job was to man one of the BBQ’s.  I was “in charge” of making egg and cheese muffin sandwiches.  They went over pretty good. 

The BBQ was quite successful.  We closed things down around 1 PM.  Dismantled everything and packed it away.  I am guessing that we probably made about $400 for the building fund.

The rain held off until the evening.  It is coming down now. Windy and cold.

I am going to listen to WCMU and read tonight.

My set of day shifts (a month at a time) is done.  Starting Monday, I switch over to nights.  I hate (such a strong word – I hate using it!!) night shifts.  Actually, working them is ok, it is leaving home at 7:30 in the evening to go to work that really bugs me.  I’m ok once I get there.

I will try to get in a nap Monday afternoon.  Weatherman is forecasting a chance of rain on Monday.  But I am hoping that I will be able to get in a trail walk in the morning.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “weatherman was wrong

  1. Blake Mann

    June 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm

    I had visions of walking around in the rain today, but it turned out to be a very nice day (except for the strong wind)! I like it when rain is predicted for the weekend. You are almost guaranteed sun!

     
 
