RSS

Places to check

09 Apr

On Sunday, I headed over to Clark Wright for a walk.  The BROWN THRASHER I had seen last week was still there in the same location.  This time it was singing up a storm.  Almost non-stop.

Then I headed over to the area where I had seen a SNOWY OWL a couple of weeks back, just east of Watford.  I saw something of in the field that caught my eye.

Could this be the head of a SNOWY OWL?  I got out of the car and walked across the field to get a better look.

Definitely a SNOWY!  A little closer and I spooked up a MORNING DOVE. 

Then the owl took flight.

And landed in the field further away.

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Places to check

  1. Tom Rodger

    April 9, 2012 at 8:05 am

    Hi Dave, good morning and great pictures.
    FYI, on Mandaumin this morning (07:12 AM) for the 2nd time in a week there were about 12 – 15 wild Turkeys.
    Tom’s were on the middle of the group strutting their stuff while the hens surrounded them in a cirlcle. Cool you don’t see that too often. Unfortunately these guys are cagey they new I didn’t have my camera stuff with me for the second time in a row!!! (Chris wouldn’t stop anyway!).

    Keep up the great pictures (love the Snowies!)

     
  2. Bob Zeller

    April 9, 2012 at 9:30 am

    I love those snowies, but I have never seen one except in pictures. Great shot of the Brown Thrasher. I agree with Tom, keep the pictures coming.

    Bob

     
  3. Blake Mann

    April 9, 2012 at 9:45 pm

    Several Snowy Owls still around. I received a photo of one near St. Clair NWA today.

     
  4. Mary Bloomfield

    April 11, 2012 at 10:48 am

    Hey Dave, take Calvert out of town past Melwood Rd., turn down Mcdougall Rd. one road past Napier Rd…. that’s where we saw the owls along with Harriers and two meadowlarks….you have to go past the red barn on the right and then you will see field of grasses and then clover field…..good luck!!!

    great pics!!

     
 
