RSS

Short walk at Strathroy Conservation Area

23 Mar

This morning I headed out early.  It is a fairly short walk to the conservation area and I got there shortly before 9 AM.  The weather is still nice, although there is a storm headed our way later this afternoon supposedly.  I walked back to the bridge and around the trail several times.  Since it was so nice, I figured that I might run into others out trekiing around the trails.  But it was very quiet.  What was REALLY noticeable, was how things have greened up in just a few days.  I was on the trail this past Tuesday and I really wasn’t aware of anything loking all that green, but today there was so much more greenery.  All kinds of green growth on the ground and bushes (wild honeysuckle always leafs out early – and there is alot of it at the conservation area).  WOW.  While I was there, a BLACK-CROWNED NIGHT-HERON flew by overhead.  I saw a HAIRY WOODPECKER.  And there were several RED-BELLIED WOODPECKERS calling and flying around.

Before I sign off, I also want to mention that it is good to read posts from my blogger friends.  So good to hear about their activities and thoughts.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 23, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Short walk at Strathroy Conservation Area

  1. Blake Mann

    March 23, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    Leaves are coming out here too! Quite the opposite from last year.
    Blogs are a good way to get info out. At least you know what everyone is up to!

     
 
