RSS

06:16 hrs. – ROSS’S GOOSE in London, Ontario

22 Feb

Yesterday morning I drove into London, Ontario to Springbank Park (30 minue drive from my home in Strathroy).  A ROSS’S GOOSE has been present there since last week.  I had only seen one other ROSS’S GOOSE and that was many years ago. 

The ROSS’S is “hanging out” with a flock of CANADA GEESE.  It was interesting to watch the way it was dominated by the CANADA’S and made me wonder why it puts up with the harassment.

The ROSS’S GOOSE breeds in the high arctic tundra and migrants down thru the central portion of the North American continent.  It is a regular but uncommon winter resident in southern Ontario.  It is a very beautiful goose and I’m glad that I had a chance to see it.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 22, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “06:16 hrs. – ROSS’S GOOSE in London, Ontario

  1. Blake Mann

    February 22, 2012 at 7:11 pm

    Neat photos!
    Never seen one this close.

     
 
