RSS

20:36 hrs – we’ll see

20 Feb

Just worked three night shifts.  Now a couple of days off.  This afternoon I was busy answering emails and reading.  Finished reading KINGBIRD HIGHWAY by Kenn Kaufman.  I really enjoyed this book.  It was very well-written and pulled me into the story-line.  It felt like I was traveling along with Kenn and experiencing and feeling the things he was seeing and doing.  Kaufman was like a Jack Kerouac of the birding community in the early 70’s, when birding was really taking off.  I didn’t get into birding until about 10 years later (early 80’s).  But from my reading and studies of the birding community, I recognized many of the people Kaufman wrote about or mentioned in his book.

After supper, I squirred myself away downstairs and started in on my next book:  THE CONFESSIONS OF NAT TURNER by William Styron.  This book won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for 1968.  I hope it is a better read than the Pulitzer Prize novel I read at the end of 2011. 

This year is already moving ahead quickly.  Can’t believe that we are nearing the end of February.  I think part of the reason time goes so fast is because I am working full-time.  And when it comes to work, I am.quite torn in opposite directions.  I am building a nice little nest-egg.  I want to go to Alaska (to Gambel, Alaska, actually)And a trip there does not come cheap.  And I’m not sure I want to go by myself.  But working full-time when you really don’t need to has a price.  And that price is time.  It robs me of time to do all the thiings I enjoy.  I am not reading as much as I did before starting the job.  I don’t have the time to bird as much.  I am more tired than I’d like to be.  And I am eating and snacking more, which isn’t healthy either.  I keep asking myself: “How much longer?”  Right now, I am telling myself another year, that I will quit a year from now.  We’ll see.

A ROSS’S GOOSE has turned up in London at Springbank Park.  I think I will head over there tomorrow morning and see if I can find it.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 20, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “20:36 hrs – we’ll see

  1. Bob Zeller

    February 20, 2012 at 10:40 pm

    For me after reaching a certain age, I started downhill and I am picking up speed. 🙂 I enjoyed this post, Dave, and admire the sacrifices you are making so you can make that trip.

     
 
