RSS

17:35 hrs – beautiful day

13 Feb

The sky was clear and bright, temperature was right around freezing and there was little to no wind.  What a gorgeous afternoon.

I drove over Longwoods Conservation Area, parked the van near the entrance and walked the trails.  CROWS were evident, flying and calling in the park.  I imagine they will be thinking of nesting before long.  I saw a smattering of PURPLE FINCHES.  And with the recent report of Crossbills and Redpolls, I thought I might be lucky and chance upon these, but it wasn’t in the cards.  A BROWN CREEPER was nice to see as it made its way up a tree trunk.

And AMERICAN GOLDFINCH.

Near the visitor’s centre, there was a RED-BREASTED NUTHATCH.

And a WHITE-BREASTED NUTHATCH.

As I worked my way back home, I noticed that the maple syrup farmers are already at it.  Seems a little early to me, but then winter hasn’t really hit hard this year.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “17:35 hrs – beautiful day

  1. Bob Zeller

    February 13, 2012 at 6:29 pm

    Good post and great pictures. I am envious of that shot of the White-breasted Nuthatch. Well done, Dave.

     
  2. Blake Mann

    February 13, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    Nicer scenery. I recognize that spot from when I used to do the CBC there!

     
 
